CPOY, until next year…

There’s still one more category that I entered in the 2012 College Photographer of the Year contest that hasn’t been judged yet, however after seeing what has won thus far, I’m not sure if I’ll take home anything this year.

Luckily, I’m happy with the fact that two of my photos made it pretty far, at least far enough to be seen in the Judging Screencasts which usually show the top 20-30 images out of sometimes more than a thousand. I’m glad to be in the company of some incredibly talented photojournalists, including my friend Patrick who managed to scoop up an award of excellence for his photo on homelessness in Kyrgyzstan.  (fourth photo down)

Here are the two photos that were so close, yet so far.

A soldier jumps from the back of a US Army helicopter into Lake Washington during a rapid deployment exercise Sunday, August 5, 2012 at the Boeing Air Show in Seattle, Wash.

A diver emerges for air while warming up for the senior men’s 3m springboard preliminary round of the U.S. Olympic trials, Wednesday, June 20, 2012, at the King County Aquatic Center in Federal Way, Wash.

Although the next few photos didn’t place, I’m still happy with the fact that I submitted them anyway.

I felt this year has been a good year for shooting. I had my internship with the Seattle Times and continued my work with The State Press, ASU’s newspaper. I feel like I’ve had more publications pick up my photos in the past three months than the rest of my time shooting combined. Barring some sort of disaster, I should have another great internship opportunity in the beginning of 2013.

Granted, competitions aren’t everything, but for the next year, I’m going to apply a few new motos to my work to try to push myself over the edge. Try to make a photo that I’ve never taken or even considered on every shoot, and try to make one good photo a day.

Photojournalism has a competitive job market, so this next year is make or break and hopefully if I follow my new mindset to employment.

Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,154 other followers

